Wednesday, 24 July 2013

Central Administrative Tribunal

Central Administrative Tribunal
  • By 42nd amendment Act, 1976,Article 323A under part XIVA was inserted. According to which, Parliament may, by law provide for establishment of administrative tribunals.
  • It was established in 1985 under the Administrative Tribunals Act (1985) of the Parliament. Hence, it is a statutory body.
  • It deals with the disputes relating to the recruitment and all service matters.
  • Its objective is to provide speedy and inexpensive justice to the aggrieved Civil Servants.
  • Its jurisdiction extends to the members of public services in connection with the affairs of the Union or other local authorities within the territory of India or under the control of Government of India.

  • It is a multi-member body consisting of a Chairman, 16 Vice-Chairmen and 49 Members.
  • They are drawn from both the Judicial and the Administrative streams.

  • They are appointed by the President.
  • The term of the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman is 5 years or until they attain the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
  • The term of the members is 5 years or until they attain the age of 62 years, whichever is earlier.
  • They are not eligible for re-appointment.

Administrative Control:
It works under the administrative control of the Department of Personnel and Training-one of the three departments of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions

No comments:

Post a Comment